The Canada Pakistan Business Council (CPBC) celebrates its 34th Anniversary Gala and honours Awards to prominent individuals who have contributed in their respective fields of specialization. Maintaining its traditions, CPBC event was attended by a cross section of people representing dignitaries, prominent business and community leaders, and members of the academia. And as always, a large contingent from the business community, Pakistan diaspora, and distinguished guests honored the occasion with their presence. As per the mandate of CPBC, this year’s event also witnessed CPBC partnered and welcomed a high-powered ICT delegation, creating an opportunity to connect Canada and Pakistan to bring together each other’s excellence and diverse strengths to enhance collaborations in this sector. To support the cause, Dr. Reza Moridi, Minister of Research, Innovation, and Science, Government of Ontario was invited as the guest of honor and keynote speaker.

Talat Muinuddin_001

The award for ‘CPBC Excellence Award for Humanitarian Services 2017’ was presented to Ms. Talat Muinuddin. Ms. Muinuddin is based in Canada for more than 40 years and has remained an active women’s rights advocate.IMG_1913

She has served on the planning board of the International Year of the Family, and on the Board of Directors of the North York Women’s Shelter. Ms Moinuddin is a recipient of YWCA Woman of Distinction award for diversity in 2007. Additionally, in 2008 she was honoured by the Toronto Police Services, on International Women’s Day, for her commitment to women’s betterment and community work.


Ms. Muinuddin also has the honor of representing Canadian Muslim Women at the U.N.’s 4th World Conference on Women in Beijing in 1995. She is the founding member and President of the Women’s Intercultural Network, where she has strived to bring women of all backgrounds together to work towards achieving equality for women’s rights, peace, women’s health, education, and the effects of Canadian Immigration laws on women from diverse backgrounds.

13 (1)

The event was attended by a number of dignitaries, prominent among them were Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance, Dr. Reza Moridi – MPP Minister for Research, Innovation and Science, MP Salma Zahid and MP Rob Oliphant – Co-chairs Canada Pakistan Parliamentary Friendship Group, MP Iqra Khalid – MP Mississauga, MP Lorne Coe – MPP Whitby-Oshawa, Dr. Shafiq Qaadri,Dr. Donald Bobaish, Deputy Minister, Global Affairs Canada, Chief Eric Joliffe – Chief of Police York Region, Mayor Linda Jeffery – Mayor of Brampton, Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Consul General of Sri Lanka, Mr. U L M Jauhar, Mr. Andrew Turner – Canadian Deputy High Commissioner to Pakistan, Mr. David Agnew, President SENECA, Hon. Bryon Wilfert, Chairman CPBC, Samir Dossal – President CPBC and many more.